Muthuaini Factory

Muthuaini factory is situated in Tetu location, Muthuaini sub-location, Nyeri Central district east of aberdare mountains. It started its operations in the year 1986 as factory number 15 of the 18 factories in former Tetu coffee growers’ co-operative society ltd which had eighteen factories. In 1999, the society split into eighteen single factory society’s Muthuaini factory being one of them. In the year 2004, the government encouraged the single societies to merge and form a large and economically viable society. This effort resulted to the formation of two societies namely aguthi and mutheka farmer’s co-operative society ltd. The factory has four diferent zones of Muthuaini catchment area.these zones are Kiondoe, Githakwa,Kairia and Kanoga.


2013/2014 226,035.50
2012/2013 237,930.00
2011/2012 333,227.00
2010/2011 51,039.50
2009/2010 201,804.00
2008/2009 212,491.50
2007/2008 188,393.50
2006/2007 207,043.00
2005/2006 376,119.00
2004/2005 236,458.00
Total 2,270,541
Average 227,054.10



Av Trees per farmer 193
Early: Late crop ratio(%) 1:10
Drying Method sun drying
Harvesting Method Hand picking
Equipment used Buckets
Main Crop Season October – November
Varieties SL28, SL34, RUIRU 11, BATIAN
Soils Red Volcanic Soil